In this article, we're going to learn about inheritance. We'll also look at why you would use inheritance, breaking inheritance and restoring inheritance.
Inheritance means any content or changes you make in the Master Version will take effect in all other Versions. So if you write a headline in your Master Version, the same headline will appear in all your other Versions. Or if you change an image in your Master Version, it will change in all your other Versions too. If you don't want all your Versions to inherit from your Master Version, you can break the inheritance.
Why use inheritance:
Inheritance is a very powerful feature which will prevent duplication and enable you to produce a large amount of content in a short time.
It will also make editing and changing multiple Versions much faster.
How do I know what inherits from what?
Every single element, in every single mailing, has an inheritance icon to the right of it.
If the element is inheriting from the Master Version you will see this icon:
If the element is inheriting from the Template you will see this icon:
If the icon is blue, the Version is inheriting from the Master Version or template specified.
If the icon is greyed out, then the Version is not inheriting. If you change something in a Version that is not the Master, that automatically breaks the inheritance.
Inheritance can only be broken from within a non Master Version. You can break inheritance by editing any part of your non Master Version. Inheritance is broken on an element by element basis.
E.g. if you change the sub headline in a non master but not the header, inheritance will be broken for the sub headline only
If you then change the sub headline in your Master Version, it will no longer update the non Master Version
- Open the non Master Version you want to restore the inheritance in
- Click the part you want to change
- Select the grey icon this will then turn blue and you will see the content in the preview change
In the master version of each mailing you can chose what other versions a module will appear in.
To select which modules you want in another Version:
- Select the 'Include in Versions' icon in the module header
2. This will open a panel to the left of the module
3. Here you can select and deselect what Versions this module is included in
If you untick the Master Version the module will become hidden in the master version
4. Select 'Apply Changes' to save your changes
You will then be able to see these modules in the selected Versions