By default, all versions will inherit from the master version. If you click into  a version and look in the module settings section to the right of your  screen, you will be able to see whether the 'use content from xxx' is ticked or unticked. If it is unticked, then that element of that version is not  inheriting from anything.   

Did this answer your question?